Herstal, Liège, Belgique
info@aquatic-science.com

Author: Jhansi Godfirnon

5. Maintaining water balance whatever the weather conditions

Indeed, rainwater can bring acidity to your pond and is totally devoid of minerals.  As a result, it dilutes the minerality of the pond.  However, water without minerals is fragile and can undergo sudden changes leading to explosive greening. There is no minimum quantity of minerals that is essential for a good balance. On the…
Read more

4. Do not overcrowd your pond

Water is one pleasure but the life it harbours is another. Most ponds will often be populated by fish. Although all tastes are in the wild, it can be said that it is commonly accepted that koi carp with their flamboyant colours are the queens of the pond. But beware, not only are they greedy…
Read more

3.Maintaining water balance in all weathers

In nature, there is no such thing as a stable environment for ever. A natural pond will always end up silting up, see its banks colonize, gradually become swampy and then a grassy or wooded environment depending on the location. To avoid this in your pond, it is essential to limit the accumulation of mud.…
Read more

2. Regularly measure the parameters of your water

The water in your pond may take on brownish or greenish hues. These shades correspond to different imbalances. For example, if you feed too much, your fish will generate too much faecal matter and will leave uneaten food that will enrich the pond water. The water will then become brownish and increasingly opaque. The same…
Read more

1. Plant debris

In a basin, there are two sources of organic matter that can contribute to the degradation of water quality. One is food and the other is plant or organic debris brought in by water or wind. It is up to you to control the amount of food. For plants, it is often more complicated. If…
Read more

Herstal, Liège, Belgique
info@aquatic-science.com

Auteur : Jhansi Godfirnon

5. Maintenir l’équilibre de l’eau par tous les temps

L’eau de pluie peut apporter de l’acidité dans votre bassin et est totalement dépourvue de minéraux.  Il en découle qu’elle dilue la minéralité du bassin.  Or, une eau sans minéraux, est une eau fragile, susceptible de subir des changements brusques conduisant à un verdissement explosif.  Il n’y a pas une quantité minimale de minéraux qui…
Read more

4.Ne pas surpeupler votre bassin !

L’eau est un plaisir mais la vie qu’elle abrite en est un autre. La plupart des bassins seront souvent peuplés de poissons. Bien que tous les goûts soient dans la nature, on peut dire qu’il est communément admis que les carpes koïs avec leurs couleurs flamboyantes sont les reines du bassin. Mais attention, non seulement…
Read more

3. Limiter l’accumulation de la vase

Dans la nature, il n’existe pas de milieu stable à jamais.  Un étang naturel finira toujours pas s’envaser, voir ses berges se coloniser, devenir progressivement à marécages et puis un milieu herbagé ou boisé selon les lieux.  Pour éviter cela dans votre bassin, il est primordial de limiter l’accumulation de la vase.  Il faut en…
Read more

2. Mesurer régulièrement les paramètres de son eau

L’eau de votre bassin peut prendre des teintes brunâtres ou verdâtres. Ces teintes correspondent à des déséquilibres différents. Si vous nourrissez trop par exemple, vos poissons vont générer un excès de matière fécale et vont laisser intact des aliments non consommées qui vont enrichir l’eau du bassin. Elle risque de prendre un aspect brunâtre de…
Read more

1. Les débris végétaux

Dans un bassin, on retrouve deux sources de matière organique pouvant contribuer à la dégradation de la qualité de l’eau.